Amami Oshima Island
Photo: Hiroshi Tateishi/DreamstimeAmami-Oshima island

Four Japanese islands added to Unesco World Heritage list

Amami-Oshima, Tokunoshima, Iriomote and the northern part of Okinawa island make Japan’s fifth natural heritage site

Emma Steen
Written by
Emma Steen

Four islands in southwestern Japan have just been added to the Unesco World Heritage list as of July 26. Collectively, the northern part of Okinawa island and Okinawa prefecture’s Iriomote island, as well as Kagoshima’s Amami-Oshima island and Tokunoshima island make Japan’s fifth Unesco natural heritage site. This means Japan now has a total of 24 Unesco World Heritage Sites

The string of islands was recommended for its diverse ecosystem of plant and animal species that are unique to the region. These include endangered species like the small-eared Amami rabbit and the Ryukyu long-haired rat, as well as the Iriomote cat – a subspecies of the leopard which lives exclusively on the island it is named after. 

Amami Oshima Island
Photo: sow-chika/Photo-ACAmami-Oshima island

Together, the islands make up 42,698 hectares of subtropical rainforests that are completely uninhabited by humans. According to Nikkei, this latest designation will likely lead to a surge in tourists while the local governments of Kagoshima and Okinawa are working on improving preservation efforts. 

The last destination added to Unesco’s list of world natural heritage sites in Japan was the Ogasawara Islands in 2011. 

More from Time Out

Gucci opens a pop-up exhibition in a historical Kyoto house

Palette Town in Odaiba to close facilities from December for major redevelopment

How to watch the Tokyo Olympics online for free

Watch: international athletes are raving about the food at the Olympic Village

teamLab Borderless in Odaiba will be closing in August 2022

Want to be the first to know what’s cool in Tokyo? Sign up to our newsletter for the latest updates from Tokyo and Japan.

Latest news