Cantata Profana

Music, Classical and opera
Cantata Profana
© Clive Barda
Béla Bartók's monumental 'Cantata Profana' (based on a Romanian ballad sung at the time of the winter solstice); the richly rhythmic 'Music for Strings, Percussion and Celeste'; and Igor Stravinsky's visceral and seminal ballet score 'The Rite of Spring'. Philharmonia Orchestra and Gulbenkian Choir under Esa-Pekka Salonen, with Attila Fekete (tenor) and Michele Kalmandi (bass-baritone). (Note: at 6pm in RFH, a pre-concert talk. Malcolm Gillies introduces the evening's programme; free.)


1 person listening