Counterpoise: Soft City

Music, Classical and opera
0 Love It
Save it

Hall Two, Kings Place

The ensemble Counterpoise explores themes of construction and disintegration, of harmony and alienation, with particular regard to spatial concerns, through music and film. Charlotte Bray’s 'Soft City', for instance, proposes a vision of the city as a fragile anthropomorphic landscape; while Russell Hepplewhite’s 'Urban Abstract' celebrates the individual ‘personality’ and beauty of bold architectural edifices. Jean Hasse’s score for the classic Watson and Webber silent short 'The Fall of the House of Usher' reflects the film’s morbid obsession with death and dissolution; and Britten’s 'Metamorphoses after Ovid' similarly play with ideas of transformative change.

Jean Hasse: 'The Fall of the House of Usher'

Charlotte Bray: 'Soft City' (world premiere)

Benjamin Britten: 'Six Metamorphoses after Ovid'

John Casken: 'Shadowed Pieces'

Russell Hepplewhite: 'Urban Abstract' (world premiere)


Caroline Balding, violin

Kyle Horch, saxophone

Deborah Calland, trumpet

Iain Farrington, piano

Barry Millington, curator


Event phone: 020 7520 1490
Event website:
To improve this listing email: