Get us in your inbox

Changi Airport
Photograph: Facebook/Changi Airport

Singapore extends quarantine-free travel to more countries

December holidays, here we come

Delfina Utomo
Written by
Delfina Utomo

Fresh from yesterday's announcement to have a vaccinated travel lane (VTL) agreement with South Korea, Singapore just added more countries to the list today. Starting October 19, the Civil Aviation Authority of Singapore (CAAS) announced on October 9 that fully vaccinated travellers from Canada, Denmark, France, Italy, the Netherlands, Spain, United Kingdom and the United States will be able to enter Singapore under the VTL arrangement.

This means that travellers would be able to return without quarantine, only needing to take two polymerase chain reaction (PCR) tests – pre-departure and on-arrival. That's only two in total compared to the current four. This is the biggest travel announcement to date. 

Transport Minister S Iswaran said the airlines, Changi Airpot and various government agencies had gained "valuable experience" from the current VTL scheme with Brunei and Germany that has been ongoing for about a month now. He also added that this scheme would restore "two-way quarantine-free travel" between Singapore and the eight newly announced countries.

To recap, here are the 11 official countries under the VTL scheme:

  • Brunei Darussalam
  • Germany 
  • South Korea
  • Canada
  • Denmark
  • France
  • Italy
  • Netherlands
  • Spain
  • United Kingdom
  • United States

Are you ready to travel? Here's what we think, and if you are planning to go to Germany, we have some suggestions too.                                                 

Latest news