Nash Ensemble: British Dreamers of Dreams


Nash Ensemble under Paul Watkins, with Susan Gritton (soprano), Roderick Williams (baritone), Lawrence Power, viola, and pianist Ian Brown.

Britten's Simple Symphony, Op 4 (for string ensemble); Bridge's Three songs for voice, viola and piano; Vaughan Williams's Five Mystical Songs (version for baritone, string quartet and piano); Alwyn's Pastoral Fantasia (for solo viola and strings); Finzi's 'Dies Natalis', Op 8 (for soprano and strings);

(Note at 6pm, a pre-concert recital by the Nash Ensemble. Bridge's Miniatures (for piano trio); Britten's Temporal Variations (for oboe and piano); Ireland's Fantasy-Sonata (for clarinet and piano); and Vaughan Williams's Six Studies in English Folksong (for cello and piano); £6, or £3 with 7.30pm ticket.)