Get us in your inbox

Search

Here's the full schedule for Lincoln Center's White Light Festival 2016

Written by
Andrew Frisicano
Advertising

For the last five years, one of the most intriguing parts of the fall music calendar has been Lincoln Center's White Light Festival. The wide-ranging month-long event mixes contemporary and classical music with dance performances and choral works, incorporating sounds from NYC and around the world to explore the spiritual properties of music and art. This year's event, which kicks off October 16, features 41 performances in 10 venues, with a focus on the music and art of South India curated by choreographer Mark Morris. Dig into the full schedule below.

RECOMMENDED: Full guide to the White Light Festival

The full Lincoln Center White Light Festival 2016 schedule

Sunday, October 16, Tuesday, October 18, and Wednesday, October 19
Human Requiem
Rundfunkchor Berlin
Simon Halsey, conductor
Synod House, Cathedral of St. John the Divine

Thursday–Saturday, October 20–22
This World Made Itself
Miwa Matreyek
Clark Studio Theater

Friday, October 21
Immortal Bach
Rundfunkchor Berlin
Gijs Leenaars, director
Church of St. Mary the Virgin

Tuesday, October 25
Pather Panchali (Song of the Little Road)
Bruno Walter Auditorium, Dorothy and Lewis B. Cullman Center, New York Public Library for the Performing Arts

Tuesday, October 25
Aparajito (The Unvanquished)
Bruno Walter Auditorium, Dorothy and Lewis B. Cullman Center, New York Public Library for the Performing Arts

Wednesday, October 26
Apur Sansar (The World of Apu)
Bruno Walter Auditorium, Dorothy and Lewis B. Cullman Center, New York Public Library for the Performing Arts

Wednesday–Thursday, October 26–27
Babel (words)
Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui, choreography
Damien Jalet, choreography
Antony Gormley, set design
Rose Theater, Jazz at Lincoln Center’s Frederick P. Rose Hall

Wednesday, October 26
The River
Bruno Walter Auditorium, Dorothy and Lewis B. Cullman Center, New York Public Library for the Performing Arts

Thursday, October 27
Bombay Jayashri
Gerald W. Lynch Theater at John Jay College

Friday, October 28 and Sunday, October 30
Kerala Kalamandalam Kathakali Troupe
Gerald W. Lynch Theater at John Jay College

Saturday, October 29, Thursday, November 3, and Saturday, November 5
Mark Morris Dance Group
Mark Morris, choreographer
Gerald W. Lynch Theater at John Jay College

Sunday, October 30
Verdi Requiem
London Symphony Orchestra
Gianandrea Noseda, conductor
David Geffen Hall

Tuesday, November 1
V. Selvaganesh
Gerald W. Lynch Theater at John Jay College

Wednesday, November 2 and Friday, November 4
Nrityagram
Gerald W. Lynch Theater at John Jay College

Thursday, November 3
A Little Night Music/Nrityagram Music Ensemble
Stanley H. Kaplan Penthouse


Friday, November 4
A Little Night Music/MMDG Music Ensemble
Stanley H. Kaplan Penthouse


Saturday, November 5 from 4:00 to 5:30 pm
White Light Conversation
Our Humanity: Past, Present, and Future
Stanley H. Kaplan Penthouse
FREE 

Sunday, November 6
T.M. Krishna
Gerald W. Lynch Theater at John Jay College


Wednesday–Saturday, November 9–12
All That Fall
by Samuel Beckett
Pan Pan Theatre
The Duke on 42nd St


Thursday–Saturday, November 10–12
(T)here to (T)here
Liz Gerring Dance Company
Liz Gerring, choreographer
In collaboration with Kay Rosen
Baryshnikov Arts Center, Jerome Robbins Theater

Saturday, November 12
Venetian Coronation
Gabrieli
Paul McCreesh, conductor
Alice Tully Hall, Starr Theater, Adrienne Arsht Stage

Monday–Wednesday, November 14–16
The Return of Ulysses
Handspring Puppet Company
William Kentridge, director
Gerald W. Lynch Theater at John Jay College

Wednesday, November 16
Medieval to Modern
Jeremy Denk, piano
Alice Tully Hall, Starr Theater, Adrienne Arsht Stage

Show your love! Nominate your favorite local places for the Love New York Awards.

Popular on Time Out

    Latest news

      Advertising