Chippendale New World Art Prize

Art, Installation Free
Chippendale New World Art Prize 2016 finalist Indigo Hanlee and Lightwell for dyeing breaths
CNWAP 2016 finalist work by Indigo Hanlee and Lightwell, 'Dyeing Breaths'.

Check out the 41 finalists for the Chippendale Creative Precinct’s fourth annual art prize, themed this year around ‘spirit’

The Chippendale New World Art Prize is funded by arts philanthropist (and chairman of Frasers Property Australia) Dr Stanley Quek. Its mission is to foster emerging artists across all mediums, and each year the competition takes a different theme.

This year's 41 finalists were selected by a panel comprised of Dr Quek, Wayne Tunnicliffe (​head curator of Australian art at the Art Gallery of NSW), collector and philanthropist Pat Corrigan, and internationally acclaimed Australian artist Janet Laurence​.

The same panel awarded the 2016 Prize to Indigo Hanlee and Michael Thomas Hill, of design agency Lightwell, for their multi-screen and iPad installation 'Dyeing Breath' (pictured above). 

The duo will receive a three-month residency at the Arte Studio Ginestrelle on Mount Subasio in Assisi, Italy, worth $10,000.

The finalists for the 2016 CNWAP are: Paul Davies, Cat Bailey, Natasha Walsh, Andrew Christie, Gabriella Hirst, Penny Ryan, Danica Firulovic, Lux Eterna, Kailum Graves, Jo Meisner, Meaghan Potter, Antoinette Barbouttis, Annie Levitch, Vilma Bader, Nicole Kelly, Susan Chen, Olivia Arnold, Jan Cleveringa, Eunjoo Jang, Damien Shen, Patrick Cremin, Tina Fiveash, Belem Lett, Ceara Metlikovec, Beth Radford, Janet Haslett, Randal Arvilla, Acre-Villalobos, Penelope Cain, Nicholas Aloisio-Shearer, Song Mi Sim, Tanya Chaitow, Cathy Drew, Hyun-Hee Lee, Kerry Candarakis, Annabelle Arora, Ariella Friend, Niki McDonald, Thi Nguyen, Darryl Rogers, Moon Hee Kim.

1 person listening