Keir Choreographic Award finals

0 Love It
Save it
Keir Choreographic Award finals
Photograph: Gregory Lorenzutti
Matthew Day, finalist 2014 Keir Choreographic Award

Expand your palate with this degustation of short new dance works hand-picked for innovation

Established in 2014, this biennial award is Australia’s first major contemporary choreographic award, and is funded by the Keir Foundation for the promotion of innovative, experimental and cross-art form practice in contemporary dance.

In 2016, eight semi-finalists will present short works at Melbourne's Dancehouse from April 26-30; four of these will then be selected to present their works at Carriageworks, in the Keir Choreographic Award finals. 

The winner receives a cash prize of $30,000; Sydney audiences will select an audience favourite, to receive a $10,000 prize.

The eight finalists competing at Dancehouse are: Sydney-based choreographer and performer Ghenoa Gela (Mura Buai - Performance Space 2015), Sarah Aiken, James Batchelor, Chloe Chignell, Martin Hansen, Alice Heyward (seen by Sydneysiders in Xavier Le Roy’s Temporary Title at Carriageworks), New Zealand artist Rebecca Jensen (Next Wave 2014 and Dance Massive 2015), and Paea Leach.

The judges of the 2016 Keir Choreographic Award are Atlanta Eke, the Melbourne-based choreographer and performer who won the inaugural KCA; Bojana Cvejić (Belgrade), a performance theorist and performance maker based in Brussels; Pierre Bal-Blanc, curator of Documenta 14 and independent art critic; Sarah Michelson, a US-based choreographer; Wendy Martin, artistic director of Perth International Arts Festival; and Phillip Keir, founder of the Keir Foundation.


1 person listening