Get us in your inbox

Melbourne skyline water
Photograph: Jamie Moreno/Unsplash

Victoria re-opens border to regional NSW, but remains closed to Greater Sydney

Regional NSW residents are given the go-ahead for travel to and from Victoria, which will now classify parts of the country using a 'traffic light' system

Written by
Divya Venkataraman

If you've gotten whiplash trying to keep up with the latest border closures, we don't blame you. Victorian Premier Daniel Andrews announced today, January 11, that his state would once again open up to travellers from regional NSW – but Sydneysiders are still persona non grata in Victoria for the moment. 

While regional residents of NSW will be allowed back into the state from 9pm tonight, those living in Sydney, the Blue Mountains and Wollongong will have to wait until they are allowed to travel down south again.

While announcing the relaxation of borders for regional visitors, premier Andrews also announced a new national “commonsense traffic light” system which will come into effect at 6pm today, in order to govern when and how Victoria would open and close its borders to the rest of the country. Travellers hoping to visit Victoria will have to apply online at Service Victoria for a permit before entering the state, and each part of Australia will be designated either red, orange or green, based on the risk posed by the virus. 

According to this system, regional NSW will move from being classified a "red" zone to an "orange" zone, from 5.59pm tonight.

Find the latest information on borders here

Now long, now. The vaccine will be rolled out in Australia from mid-February

Latest news