Get us in your inbox

Melbourne skyline over Flinders Street
Photograph: Dmitry Osipenko/Unsplash

Victoria partially reopens its borders to travellers from Sydney

A total of 25 local government areas in the Greater Sydney region will downgrade from 'red' to 'orange' in Victoria's traffic light system

Written by
Divya Venkataraman

Under the new 'traffic light' travel permit system instituted in Victoria, the virus alert level for 25 local government areas (LGAs) across the Sydney region will be downgraded as of 6pm tonight. 

Travellers from every LGA except for 10 across Greater Sydney will be allowed to visit Victoria. Those hoping to cross the border from NSW must still apply for a permit, get tested within 72 hours of arriving in Victoria, and isolate until they receive a negative result. The news comes after Sydney recorded no new cases until 8pm on Sunday evening – though the NSW premier Gladys Berejiklian warned that testing numbers were still too low, and would need to increase before restrictions in Greater Sydney around masks and gathering numbers could ease. 

The excluded areas – those still in a 'red' zone – include Blacktown City, Burwood, Canada Bay City, Canterbury-Bankstown, Cumberland, Inner West, Liverpool City, Fairfield City, Parramatta City and Strathfield. Travellers from those regions will not be allowed into Victoria. 

Looking for broader horizons? Here's when Australians (maybe, possibly) might be able to travel overseas again

Latest news