Keir Choreographic Award

Keir Choreographic Award 2018 Carriageworks photo credit: Branch Nebula
Photograph: Branch Nebula

Expand your palate with this degustation of short new dance works hand-picked for innovation

Established in 2014, this biennial award is Australia’s first major contemporary choreographic award, and is funded by the Keir Foundation for the promotion of innovative, experimental and cross-art form practice in contemporary dance.

In 2016, the $30,000 award was presented to Ghenoa Gela, and Atlanta Eke took out the award before her in 2014. The eight artists competing this year are: Nana Biluš Abaffy, Branch Nebula (Lee Wilson and Mirabelle Wouters), Luke George, Amrita Hepi, Prue Lang, Melanie Lane, Bhenji Ra and Lillian Steiner.  

They have to impress the panel of industry leaders, with local Lucy Guerin judging alongside Anna Cy Chan, Ishmael Houston-Jones, Eszter Salamon, Christophe Slagmuylder and Meg Stuart.

Melbourne audiences will get to see all eight works, and four finalists will be selected from the bunch to compete in Sydney.

1 person listening